Smiling Tree Handcrafted Toys Review

Disclosure; This is not a sponsored post. I did receive a product sample to facilitate my review however the opinions here are my own. 

     Ever since nursery school I have been a big fan of wooden toys. Many years later, I still remember playing with the classroom’s well loved set of wooden blocks. Triangle blocks, cylinders, squares…all the tools needed for an active imagination. Now, as the proud Mom to 3 (soon to be 4) boys I hope to give my children the same experiences with quality wooden toys. I have searched the internet, etsy shops, ebay, amazon…you name it, I’ve surfed there. Unfortunately, USA made high quality wooden toys can be hard to come across. We purchased blocks from Toys-R-Us and they have brightly colored paint and are made in China. To be honest, I don’t use them often. I nearly jumped for joy when I discovered Smiling Tree Toys. It’s a Mom and Dad run business that hand-makes their toys in Minnesota. Have a look at this fantastic company and like me, I’m sure you’ll want to have one of everything in your home!

     We have the opportunity to review these fantastic Math Blocks. Smiling Tree Toys makes building blocks, alphabet blocks, personalized sets and keepsakes…but when I saw these math blocks I knew my 4 year old would have a blast! The blocks arrived in a white box, and as someone who reviews cloth diapers regularly, I was surprised when I heard the box rattle. I quickly opened it up to find an adorable unbleached cotton drawstring bag filled with these blocks. I thought my 4 year old would use them with his math workbooks…but they really inspire his imagination. When I first spread them out in-front of him, he lined up numbers 1,3,5,7,9 etc. and said “hey Mom look, it’s odd numbers.” We’ve talked a few times about even and odd numbers…but I didn’t know he had remembered! He makes up his own math problems, uses them to teach his younger brothers and is very interested in division and multiplication. He’ll engage with them for 30-45 minutes on his own. What an amazing learning tool, all from blocks!
     On one side of the blocks (seen above) are numbers, on the same block on the reverse side are symbols. For example, on the “9” block there are 9 circles on the back. The zero block is blank on the back and the action block has an addition, subtraction, multiplication and division sign on it. It’s the darkest out of the bunch (nearly black) and very easy to find in the mix. The blocks are all different shades of natural wood and finished with organic oil and beeswax. They have a nice matte texture and are very smooth. I know that if our baby gets a hold of one, and tries to put it in his mouth, there are zero chemicals and paints he can ingest. Blocks are 1.5″ cubes and are a regular carry-along item in our to-go bag. They frequent Grandma’s! The color of the blocks in the photos with my son teaching his brother are most accurate compared to the lighter outdoor photos. The darker blocks are truly darker and they each have unique features that makes them easy to identify when they’re all in a pile. Given a little bit of time, it’s easy to identify each number block not only from the number…but from the individual nuances in the wood grain and color.
     What would I change about this product? I’m frequently asked to share a downside. My downside would be that I want more blocks!! As my boys grow in their mathematical abilities, I would definitely want to add a second set to allow for bigger and more complicated math problems. This set, and many others on their website, would make a great gift and applies to a wide range of ages and abilities.

     Some tidbits about this company; Smiling Tree Toys is owned and operated by Mom and Dad team Justin and Kathleen in Minnesota. As parents to 2 babies they take pride in making handmade items, including children’s toys, that are earth friendly from start to finish. Products are made from sustainable American hardwoods and as you can see in the math blocks featured here, they add fantastic character to every piece. After spending 2 years in the Peace Corps in West Africa, their experience has lead them to a deep appreciation of life, and in return they donate a portion of their profits from every item sold to Peace Corps Youth Development Program. Want to learn more about this company? I highly recommend checking out their shop! They create everything from Christmas ornaments to personalized cutting boards and baby teethers. Make sure to follow them on facebook and visit their website to see a HUGE selection of products.

      As always thanks for stopping by! I appreciate a follow on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram, and Periscope (when being chosen for reviews many companies care about numbers) and love to network on Google and LinkedIn.Want to work together? Contact MamaBananasAdventures@gmail.com.
0 0 vote
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
218 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Stephanie O'Day
4 years ago

I used to have some blocks very similar to the ones here! I loved them! I may have to get some for my own kid now!

Stephanie O'Day
4 years ago

I used to have some blocks very similar to the ones here! I loved them! I may have to get some for my own kid now!

jenn marie
4 years ago

These look great! I'm always looking for natural, non-toxic, multipurpose toys (especially if they don't need batteries 🙂 ). Thanks for posting this!

kate m
kate m
4 years ago

What fun! These are beautiful, fun, and interesting.

jamie Davis
4 years ago

These are so beautiful! I just love natural wooden toys.

jamie Davis
4 years ago

These are so beautiful! I just love natural wooden toys.

Sandra Watts
4 years ago

These are great. Nice for learning but could be nice for other things too.

Sandra Watts
4 years ago

These are great. Nice for learning but could be nice for other things too.

Chelsea Preston
4 years ago

I love wooden toys so much. Adding this seller to my list to buy from. love the look and quality of this maker.

Chelsea Preston
4 years ago

I love wooden toys so much. Adding this seller to my list to buy from. love the look and quality of this maker.

Mary Olin
4 years ago

I love wooden toys! I am reminded of the toy lending library of my childhood…

Mary Olin
4 years ago

I love wooden toys! I am reminded of the toy lending library of my childhood…

Britney
Britney
4 years ago

My husband and I were just recently discussing how we just don't see toys like simple building and stacking blocks anymore, I was even debating on making some for Christmas, but buying from this family owned business would be so much better for this tired mommy.

Britney
Britney
4 years ago

My husband and I were just recently discussing how we just don't see toys like simple building and stacking blocks anymore, I was even debating on making some for Christmas, but buying from this family owned business would be so much better for this tired mommy.

Anel Winney
4 years ago

This is beautiful! I love the different shades in the colors of the blocks. Looks like it would be something that would last a few good years. Love all the wood products!

Anel Winney
4 years ago

This is beautiful! I love the different shades in the colors of the blocks. Looks like it would be something that would last a few good years. Love all the wood products!

Heather Estabrooks
4 years ago

I need some of those ornaments! Heading over now!!

Heather Estabrooks
4 years ago

I need some of those ornaments! Heading over now!!

Sharon
4 years ago

i am obsessed with their wooden blocks and must buy some. they are great wooden toys. and their ornaments are the cutest things ever. so simple and so powerful.

Sharon
4 years ago

i am obsessed with their wooden blocks and must buy some. they are great wooden toys. and their ornaments are the cutest things ever. so simple and so powerful.

Samantha Mills
4 years ago

I love wooden toys, and these blocks look awesome. I love how beautiful and simple they are. Kids always love simple toys anyway. My little guy would rather play with the box most toys come in than the toys themselves. I really like how each block has a side with symbols that correlate to the number on the block. I think my baby boy could get years of fun out of these blocks, unlike a lot of toys I see these days.

Samantha Mills
4 years ago

I love wooden toys, and these blocks look awesome. I love how beautiful and simple they are. Kids always love simple toys anyway. My little guy would rather play with the box most toys come in than the toys themselves. I really like how each block has a side with symbols that correlate to the number on the block. I think my baby boy could get years of fun out of these blocks, unlike a lot of toys I see these days.

Jessica Ann
Jessica Ann
4 years ago

The craftsmanship looks amazing!!

Clara
Clara
4 years ago

I'm a kinesthetic learner so I used many different tools growing up to help me learn. If my children turn out to be like me (I think my daughter is) we will be investing in these blocks! I love supporting mom and pop businesses as well. That is something my father taught me.

Clara
Clara
4 years ago

I'm a kinesthetic learner so I used many different tools growing up to help me learn. If my children turn out to be like me (I think my daughter is) we will be investing in these blocks! I love supporting mom and pop businesses as well. That is something my father taught me.

Candi
Candi
4 years ago

I love wooden toys made to last longer then the cheap plastic versions.

Candi
Candi
4 years ago

I love wooden toys made to last longer then the cheap plastic versions.

CrunchyKatie
4 years ago

I just LOVE these wooden blocks! So natural and simple. Great for my preschooler to learn her numbers!

CrunchyKatie
4 years ago

I just LOVE these wooden blocks! So natural and simple. Great for my preschooler to learn her numbers!

Kayla Leadman
4 years ago

I love these. I remember having some like these as a child myself. Brings back Memories.

Kayla Leadman
4 years ago

I love these. I remember having some like these as a child myself. Brings back Memories.

Jacey Edson
4 years ago

Simple, practical, educational, multi-purposed…pretty much love everything about these! I need to buy these ASAP!

caroline thomas
4 years ago

looks like a great toy for my 15 month old

Kelly Galpin
4 years ago

i absolutely love the look of the product. this is something that can grow with your children. your small baby can use it to teethe and chew and the older children can use it to start learning math and different shapes. this is amazing 🙂

Angela Ramon
Angela Ramon
4 years ago

These are beautiful I need to get some!!

Angela Ramon
Angela Ramon
4 years ago

These are beautiful I need to get some!!

Kim Russell
Kim Russell
4 years ago

Wooden toys have been my new obsession for my son! Would love these!

peggy williams
peggy williams
4 years ago

these would be amazing for a special needs child like my youngest.. mutlipurposed, teething, learning and texture.. amazing product

peggy williams
peggy williams
4 years ago

these would be amazing for a special needs child like my youngest.. mutlipurposed, teething, learning and texture.. amazing product

Stevawn Ghazi
4 years ago

Wooden toys and teethers are great! I love the color of these too. Sounds like a great company to try!

Stevawn Ghazi
4 years ago

Wooden toys and teethers are great! I love the color of these too. Sounds like a great company to try!

Chalene Alic
4 years ago

My son loves stacking blocks and we are just now learning the numbers 1 and 2. These would be perfect!

Chalene Alic
4 years ago

My son loves stacking blocks and we are just now learning the numbers 1 and 2. These would be perfect!

felicia grim
4 years ago

So beautiful! My daughter would loves these

felicia grim
4 years ago

So beautiful! My daughter would loves these

Jamie Spray
4 years ago

Beautiful blocks, and I love that they have the visual representation of the numbers on the back, so they can be used from an early age for learning numbers and counting too!

Jamie Spray
4 years ago

Beautiful blocks, and I love that they have the visual representation of the numbers on the back, so they can be used from an early age for learning numbers and counting too!

Greta McCartney Briere
Greta McCartney Briere
4 years ago

I was so glad to stumble across these products through one of your giveaways. Wooden toys are great! If we wouldn't end up with a ridiculous number of toys for one child (and no money in our wallets) I would buy every brand I come across. I'm really excited to check out more of their products. Christmas is coming 🙂

Greta McCartney Briere
Greta McCartney Briere
4 years ago

I was so glad to stumble across these products through one of your giveaways. Wooden toys are great! If we wouldn't end up with a ridiculous number of toys for one child (and no money in our wallets) I would buy every brand I come across. I'm really excited to check out more of their products. Christmas is coming 🙂

Stephanie Mortimore
4 years ago

We have lots of wooden toys, but I'm not sure about the teethers. Couldn't they splinter?