Gerber AIO Cloth Diaper Review

Disclosure; This is not a sponsored post. I received product samples to facilitate my review however the opinions here are my own. These are photos I took of the actual diapers. This post contains affiliate links.

     I often say that the Gerber selection at our Babies-R-Us deterred me from cloth diapering my first son. I looked at the pull-on waterproof pants and prefolds and thought…there is no way I can cloth! It wasn’t until my second son was 8 months old that we discovered cloth diapers and our love continues to grow. The selection of colors, prints, options and quality have us in love with many reusable diaper brands. In addition to being really adorable, cloth helps the environment. They are chemical free, require production and transport once and can be washed at home and line dried indoors and our (when the weather is permitting).
     I was really excited to see the new all-in-one line from Gerber! I knew we had to try these diapers in order to completely redeem my original opinion. Guess what? They did a good job, the diapers are reasonably priced and I bet these will be on the shelves at the Babies-R-Us I mentioned earlier (I already called!!). If you have been cheering for cloth diapers to go mainstream…then I think it’s safe to say we’re just about there!! When a big company like Gerber makes an all-in-one…well, cloth is reaching new popularity and it’s really exciting! 

  • Available in 3-sizes
    • Small 8-18 lbs
    • Medium 16-28 lbs
    • Large 23-37 lbs
  • Hook and Loop closure
  • Stay put tabs to hold hook fabric when not on baby
  • Open pocket under all-in-one insert for customizing absorbency
  • Soft and trim waterproof PUL outer layer
  • One-size booster, same size comes with all 65% polyester/35% rayon
  • 100% cotton inner fabric (looks unbleached)
  • Trans-Dry technology woven into lining (draws moisture into fabric)
    • 65% polyester/35% rayon
  • Blow out elastic band at top front and back of diaper (seen below)
  • Double gussets  
  • 4 Colors; Orange, Sage, Pink and Royal Blue. (not all seen here are available)

     Notes about fit and absorbency. First off, these diapers (like all natural fibers) need to be prepped. I tried them without prepping and the absorbency is minimal..what a mess we made! All in the name of testing these out (insert smile here). I proceeded to wash and dry them 4-5x with my regular laundry and routine. This really increased the absorbency and definitely needs to be done before first use. With the booster they lasted around 2 hours with my 35 lb and 33 lb babies which is typical for us. For overnight we used an absorbent bamboo/microfiber booster from our stash and they lasted, however this seriously reduced the size and I could hardly close the aplix. A small booster can go over or under the sewn in insert, but keep in mind that these run small and that will make the diaper smaller. 
     This is a trim diaper. It fits well under clothes due to soaker design and it’s soft PUL. Extra boosters, such as for  overnight, obviously add bulk. The absorbent liner is like having a soaker fold right in the middle. In addition, it’s sewn with one layer cotton to the sides of the diaper keeping it trim. This combination keeps bulk right in the center and allows for trim sides, but the PUL does touch baby’s skin where it’s not sewn to the diaper. This is common for some covers, however I prefer a lined cover to reduce sweating and irritation.
     These are a small-to-size diaper. The 37 lb limit in the large is a true limit for us and my 33 and 35 lb boys are right at the end of fit. I would recommend these for slim toddlers and lighter babies (as compared to my boys). I definitely recommend going up a size if you’re near the weight limit on the small, medium or large sizes and overall the run small. 
     While I’m not a huge hook and loop fan (because my boys can take it off), I do appreciate the easy and speed at which Grandma can get these on my boys and I know lots of parents prefer it. These would make a great caregiver or daycare diaper because they are easy to use and have a nice price point. I noticed some curling of the hook and loop and wondered about it’s adhesive qualities. Turns out that if I tighten the diaper too much, it starts to peel a bit at the edges, after a few washes it seems to lose more of it’s adhesiveness and does not stay closed well. While this hook and loop certainly isn’t as adherent as my Grovia shell…which can actually be difficult to unpeal…it could use a bit more stick or snaps.

Size comparison below with some popular brands:
  1. Large Gerber AIO
  2. Alva Baby
  3. Applecheeks size 2
  4. Bum Genuis 4.0
  5. Baby Birdy Bum
  6. Rumparooz

The photo below is missing the Baby Birdy Bum which was removed so you could see the small and large diapers together.

     Overall I think Gerber attempted to reinvent the wheel here. Lots of thought went into the development and design of this diaper, but I keep wondering why they didn’t purchase an already successful brand with a good design. They did wash and wearing well for us, with the exeption of the aplix/velcro and I look forward to trying them on our newborn (since my older babies have completely outgrown these several pounds before the diaper’s weight limit). My hopes for the future include a one-size diaper with snaps and prints!! I would also like to see an XL size for babies like mine who are right at the end of fit for the Large, or overall resizing and relabeling of the weight. Wetbags too?! Throw some wetbags in there Gerber! If you’d like to add these to your collection, they are already available at major retailers including Amazon and at Target! Talk about making cloth mainstream…hopefully with a few adjustments these will be fantastic diapers!

    As always thanks for stopping by! I appreciate a follow on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram (when being chosen for reviews many companies care about numbers) and love to network on Google and LinkedIn.Want to work together? Contact MamaBananasAdventures@gmail.com

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
149 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Kat Harper
Kat Harper
4 years ago

I was so curious about these! Thank you so much for the review and the tip of prepping fully before use!

Kat Harper
Kat Harper
4 years ago

I was so curious about these! Thank you so much for the review and the tip of prepping fully before use!

Fiddlin' Dandi
4 years ago

I haven't tried these yet, but they look like a great new diaper!

dm91367
4 years ago

I hope these work well because it would be great to have a more affordable choice.

dm91367
4 years ago

I hope these work well because it would be great to have a more affordable choice.

NIKKI stinson
4 years ago

I am new to cloth diapers and still in the research stage. I am glad gerber is getting into this. I have want to try these and see if they will work for my baby.

NIKKI stinson
4 years ago

I am new to cloth diapers and still in the research stage. I am glad gerber is getting into this. I have want to try these and see if they will work for my baby.

Maureen
Maureen
4 years ago

After hearing poor reviews of the Gerber prefolds, I was surprised to read here that the new AIO lasted as long as your other diapers usually do, and even through the night. Sounds like they are definitely worth trying.

Christina Stine
Christina Stine
4 years ago

Thanks for sharing your prep procedure; a big help!

Christina Stine
Christina Stine
4 years ago

Thanks for sharing your prep procedure; a big help!

Jessica Lodge
4 years ago

It's nice that they have finally caught on! I hope they will get button closures and a one size version eventually.

Jessica Lodge
4 years ago

It's nice that they have finally caught on! I hope they will get button closures and a one size version eventually.

Ashlee
4 years ago

It is great to see such a mainstream and well known company making easy to use cloth diapers!

Ashlee
4 years ago

It is great to see such a mainstream and well known company making easy to use cloth diapers!

Julie
4 years ago

So glad to see more mainstream cloth and I love the double gusset feature- I'll take anything to help contain poop :)!

Julie
4 years ago

So glad to see more mainstream cloth and I love the double gusset feature- I'll take anything to help contain poop :)!

Stephanie Marcus
4 years ago

I am so glad such a big company is going mainstream with cloth. I learned that they come in different sizes.

Stephanie Marcus
4 years ago

I am so glad such a big company is going mainstream with cloth. I learned that they come in different sizes.

ERICA WEAVER
ERICA WEAVER
4 years ago

wow! i always wanted to get into cloth diapers but i didnt know to much about them i am glad i ran across this review i learned all the information i need to pursue diapers i love the pockets and i can get them in stores cant wait to hear more

ERICA WEAVER
ERICA WEAVER
4 years ago

wow! i always wanted to get into cloth diapers but i didnt know to much about them i am glad i ran across this review i learned all the information i need to pursue diapers i love the pockets and i can get them in stores cant wait to hear more

Laura
4 years ago

So glad to see cloth becoming more mainstream! And yay for having double gussets!

Laura
4 years ago

So glad to see cloth becoming more mainstream! And yay for having double gussets!

Amber Delorme
Amber Delorme
4 years ago

I love the variety of color and especially glad to see that the aio come in different sizes..It's amazing that this diaper has pockets built into it (which is Excellent for a Variety of absorbency's, all depending on what your babe's needs are)..

Amber Delorme
Amber Delorme
4 years ago

I love the variety of color and especially glad to see that the aio come in different sizes..It's amazing that this diaper has pockets built into it (which is Excellent for a Variety of absorbency's, all depending on what your babe's needs are)..

Tori Highley
4 years ago

So awesome that quality modern cloth diaper will be available at an affordable cost and in nation wide stores!

Tori Highley
4 years ago

So awesome that quality modern cloth diaper will be available at an affordable cost and in nation wide stores!

Sarah Sobocinski
4 years ago

I'm glad to hear this great review as their prefolds did not get good reviews.

Sarah Sobocinski
4 years ago

I'm glad to hear this great review as their prefolds did not get good reviews.

Wendy Browne
4 years ago

I'm glad to see an easily accessible cloth diaper, as I only have a Target and a Walmart near me and hopefully they'll keep these in stock. SO far neither carries a cloth diaper, shame on Target who seem to be so progressive in other ways.

Wendy Browne
4 years ago

I'm glad to see an easily accessible cloth diaper, as I only have a Target and a Walmart near me and hopefully they'll keep these in stock. SO far neither carries a cloth diaper, shame on Target who seem to be so progressive in other ways.

Julie Lake-Berton
4 years ago

I learned that they have double gussets! DGs are great! No leaks!

Anonymous
Anonymous
4 years ago

So want to try these..ty

Melinda Atwell
4 years ago

Seems like it might be a good 'starter' diaper for someone new to cloth!

Melinda Atwell
4 years ago

Seems like it might be a good 'starter' diaper for someone new to cloth!

Julie Lake-Berton
4 years ago

I would love to try one of these!

Julie Lake-Berton
4 years ago

I would love to try one of these!

Claire D
Claire D
4 years ago

I didn't realize this one had a pocket as well. Good to see Gerber with more than just prefolds and flats.

Claire D
Claire D
4 years ago

I didn't realize this one had a pocket as well. Good to see Gerber with more than just prefolds and flats.

Kendra Hoy
4 years ago

These are a diaper I have been interested in trying. Thanks for the review.

Kendra Hoy
4 years ago

These are a diaper I have been interested in trying. Thanks for the review.

Rachel
4 years ago

I think that's great that they will be on the shelves at BRU! I hope they really do make cloth mainstream!

Rachel
4 years ago

I think that's great that they will be on the shelves at BRU! I hope they really do make cloth mainstream!

Cassie
4 years ago

I haven't tried cloth diapering, but I have been considering it since my daughter has very sensitive skin. Occasionally she gets eczema on her little butt, and I think cloth diapers will let her skin breathe better.

Cassie
4 years ago

I haven't tried cloth diapering, but I have been considering it since my daughter has very sensitive skin. Occasionally she gets eczema on her little butt, and I think cloth diapers will let her skin breathe better.

Jamie
4 years ago

They look great. Thankyou for such a great review. It's nice they look like they might be a bit trimmer fit and its great they have an opening to add an insert to. I hate AIO that don't have that.

Jamie
4 years ago

They look great. Thankyou for such a great review. It's nice they look like they might be a bit trimmer fit and its great they have an opening to add an insert to. I hate AIO that don't have that.

Erin Virtue-Lawson
4 years ago

Nice to see a review of these. I think a lot more people will try out cloth if they can add diapers to normal store registries!

Erin Virtue-Lawson
4 years ago

Nice to see a review of these. I think a lot more people will try out cloth if they can add diapers to normal store registries!

Candice
4 years ago

These look awesome! We're expecting and just building our cloth diaper stash, and I had no idea that Gerber makes an AIO. I think the double gussets are an especially great feature!

Candice
4 years ago

These look awesome! We're expecting and just building our cloth diaper stash, and I had no idea that Gerber makes an AIO. I think the double gussets are an especially great feature!