Notice: wp_enqueue_script was called incorrectly. Scripts and styles should not be registered or enqueued until the wp_enqueue_scripts, admin_enqueue_scripts, or login_enqueue_scripts hooks. This notice was triggered by the convert-a-link handle. Please see Debugging in WordPress for more information. (This message was added in version 3.3.0.) in /home/mamabana/public_html/wp-includes/functions.php on line 5230
Balm Baby Nipple Soother Review – Mama Banana's Adventures

Balm Baby Nipple Soother Review

      I’ve been breastfeeding for almost 5 years straight! Time has gone by so quickly that I feel like I just started nursing my first baby. In the beginning, breastfeeding wasn’t easy for me. I underwent an induction/c-section in an very medical setting. In addition, my baby has a high biliruben and was away from me and under the lights for days, our pediatrician “ordered” formula for him in the hospital, and by the time we went home he was having trouble latching, I was cracked and bleeding, crying and very sore. I was given a special cream from my OB and told to “wipe it off” before nursing. It was rough. Luckily, I was better prepared both with products and education for my next baby. I went into labor at home, VBAC’d and had enough knowledge that I knew the advice coming from the hospital staff was inaccurate and bad for our nursing relationship.


     One thing I learned, is the importance of good nipple balm! It has to be safe for baby, safe for me and 100% natural. After learning about the La Leche League’s severance with Lansinoh (through an e-mail from the association when I was planning a LLL event), I’m baffled about why our hospital continues to provide lanolin…which has been determined to be full of chemicals from the sheep it’s derived from…when there are so many great products out there. I’m thrilled to share Balm Baby’s Nipple soother with you!

Ingredients include; Oilive oil infused in calendula & chamomile, coca butter, shea butter and candelilla wax.

     If you look at the jar photo, you can see tiny beads in the product. I believe this is the wax. When I take the balm out of the container I can feel them right before they melt. The balm goes on smoothly and is very soothing. As a nursing and pregnant Mama, I’m no stranger to nipple soreness. I started using this product almost a week ago and it’s helping with pain. I will continue to use it after I deliver to help with tandem nursing and pumping. I’m really surprised at how little of this product I need, and accidentally over applied a few times. While the jar appears small, it’s deceiving and will certainly last a very long time.
     Make sure to read my Balm Baby Mama Belly review and my Diaper Balm/First Aid Balm Review to see more great products from this company. Made in the USA in Hawaii, Vegan, 100% natural and Leaping Bunny Certified these products are sure to make many Moms and babies happy. In addition to their commitment to organic ingredients, they are also plastic-free. As knowledge about plastics become more public, it’s clear to me that my family needs to avoid these chemically based and toxic containers. It’s nice to know that Balm Baby products come in glass or tin and won’t have any extras seeping in from their packaging. You can find a great selection of Balm Baby Products on the Nicki’s Diapers website or find the nipple soother right on the Balm Baby site itself.

      Make sure to head over and ‘like’ Balm Baby on Facebook to keep up with their latest events and as always, thanks for stopping by! I really appreciate a follow on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram and love to network on Google and LinkedIn. I’m also now on Periscope as @MamaBananasAdv (but there is no way to link to that yet so you’ll have to search for me). Companies care about these numbers when deciding which bloggers to select to review products etc. So thank you for following! Want to work together? E-mail MamaBananasAdventures@gmail.com

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
135 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Ally Smith
4 years ago

I love the all natural products so they are safer for my baby & me!

Ally Smith
4 years ago

I love the all natural products so they are safer for my baby & me!

Ashley Meax
Ashley Meax
4 years ago

Nice change of pace from chemically laden products.

Ashley Meax
Ashley Meax
4 years ago

Nice change of pace from chemically laden products.

Ashley Meax
Ashley Meax
4 years ago

This looks like an interesting alternative to all the harsh chemically laden product on the market

Ashley Meax
Ashley Meax
4 years ago

This looks like an interesting alternative to all the harsh chemically laden product on the market

Christine Cee
Christine Cee
4 years ago

My first LO is due any day now, and plan to breastfeed. I am determined and would love to try this product. Thank you for the review 🙂

Christine Cee
Christine Cee
4 years ago

My first LO is due any day now, and plan to breastfeed. I am determined and would love to try this product. Thank you for the review 🙂

Angie Yoder
4 years ago

I almost gave up on nursing my boys because my nipples hurt so bad!!! I learned that they were not latching well, fixed the problem and they are getting better. This sounds like great all natural product for us to try! 🙂

Angie Yoder
4 years ago

I almost gave up on nursing my boys because my nipples hurt so bad!!! I learned that they were not latching well, fixed the problem and they are getting better. This sounds like great all natural product for us to try! 🙂

Viv Sluys
4 years ago

Whoa! Glad I read this before baby 4 is nursing (10 weeks to go before she gets here!). I didn't know that Lansinoh wasn't good! I'm going to check my Aleve to see if it has lanolin.

Viv Sluys
4 years ago

Whoa! Glad I read this before baby 4 is nursing (10 weeks to go before she gets here!). I didn't know that Lansinoh wasn't good! I'm going to check my Aleve to see if it has lanolin.

Lindsey La Fever
4 years ago

I didn't realize that lanolin wasn't totally natural, I'm glad I now know the truth. This looks fine a good alternative.

Lindsey La Fever
4 years ago

I didn't realize that lanolin wasn't totally natural, I'm glad I now know the truth. This looks fine a good alternative.

Lindsey La Fever
4 years ago

I didn't know that lanolin wasn't totally natural, everyone tells you to use it, so glad I know better now. This looks like a good alternative!

Lindsey La Fever
4 years ago

I didn't know that lanolin wasn't totally natural, everyone tells you to use it, so glad I know better now. This looks like a good alternative!

Ashleyr7710
4 years ago

I would love to try this..especially now that I am pumping and back at work! My nipples are SORE! 🙁

Ashleyr7710
4 years ago

I would love to try this..especially now that I am pumping and back at work! My nipples are SORE! 🙁

Dana Robertson
4 years ago

I didn't know that lanolin was bad. I'm a first time mom and I would love to try this product if it is better for my baby! We were originally going to use a lanolin based product thank you for the information 🙂

Jaque Rodriguez
4 years ago

I've definitely added this to my "need to buy" list!

Laura
Laura
4 years ago

I didn't know that there have been issues with Lanolin. Good to know that there are products like this out there!

Laura
Laura
4 years ago

I didn't know that there have been issues with Lanolin. Good to know that there are products like this out there!

Jennifer Odom
4 years ago

I've only ever used lanolin. I would love to try Balm Baby!

Jennifer Odom
4 years ago

I've only ever used lanolin. I would love to try Balm Baby!

Michelle F.
4 years ago

When will the hospitals and docs wise up? I guess if we, the moms/ patients keep speaking up they'll catch on evennntually! Thanks for spreading the word, and giving a good alternative option!

Valerie Jaffee
4 years ago

This seems like a great product. When you're having nipple problems, you'll pretty much try anything. It's great that there is a natural option like this to try.

Valerie Jaffee
4 years ago

This seems like a great product. When you're having nipple problems, you'll pretty much try anything. It's great that there is a natural option like this to try.

jamie Davis
4 years ago

My first baby had to be under the lights too and it almost sabatoged our breastfeeding relationship. I did have nipple pain issues and was only aware of lanolin at the the time. I wished I'd had this stuff back then. I'm pregnant with my second. I'll have to get some of this stuff for my mama care kit.

Stephanie Lenaerts
4 years ago

Love that its natural!

Stephanie Lenaerts
4 years ago

Love that its natural!

Christina C
Christina C
4 years ago

Awesome. I have only used one type of nipple balm before and was looking for a new one to try. This looks like a great option, and I like that it is made in the USA. Thanks for the wonderful review!

Christina C
Christina C
4 years ago

Awesome. I have only used one type of nipple balm before and was looking for a new one to try. This looks like a great option, and I like that it is made in the USA. Thanks for the wonderful review!

Alisha Emmett
Alisha Emmett
4 years ago

I am definitely looking forward to trying this product once baby number two is born!

Alisha Emmett
Alisha Emmett
4 years ago

I am definitely looking forward to trying this product once baby number two is born!

Erika Kellow
4 years ago

I've been seeing and hearing alot about balm baby lately. Your story of breastfeeding ur first rings true to my first experience as well. I'm glad that they have a natural product out there that is a great option. I am definitely going to be looking into balm baby

Erika Kellow
4 years ago

I've been seeing and hearing alot about balm baby lately. Your story of breastfeeding ur first rings true to my first experience as well. I'm glad that they have a natural product out there that is a great option. I am definitely going to be looking into balm baby

Brenda Watt
4 years ago

im so thankful that more moms are finding out how harmful and disgusting lanolin is. thank you for sharing that bit of info.

Brenda Watt
4 years ago

im so thankful that more moms are finding out how harmful and disgusting lanolin is. thank you for sharing that bit of info.

Brittany Wilson
4 years ago

Love finding Natural products!

Brittany Wilson
4 years ago

Love finding Natural products!

Jessica
4 years ago

Lanolin and coconut oil have been my best friends but I've been in the market for something new to use.

Jessica
4 years ago

Lanolin and coconut oil have been my best friends but I've been in the market for something new to use.

Wendy pierson
4 years ago

Great idea.

Wendy pierson
4 years ago

Great idea.

teach2kinder
4 years ago

I would love to try this. I too have experienced nipple pain and am shocked to learn about Lanolin!

teach2kinder
4 years ago

I would love to try this. I too have experienced nipple pain and am shocked to learn about Lanolin!

Andrea Gonzales
Andrea Gonzales
4 years ago

Great natural product with cute packaging

Andrea Gonzales
Andrea Gonzales
4 years ago

Great natural product with cute packaging

Shanda Enriquez
4 years ago

I love how it is in a glass jar! I have used so many different products I think that trying out this all natural one is next on my list!

Amber MacKay
4 years ago

This sounds awesome.. I am sad to say I was provide with the lanoish cream at the hospital and was told that it was safe for baby to ingest 🙁 I am going to purchase for my next baby!